Sunday, October 11, 2015

Know More about SCADA Standards Organizations

SCADA systems are used to monitor and control plant or equipment. Control may be automatic or can be started with the command operator. There are specific standards that are used in the transmission and receiving of information or data through the communications media used. For the sake of uniformity usage instructions and specification of measurement in the SCADA control system, should the default settings by authorized organizations, such as below:

SCADA Standards Organizations

1. The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

For those of you who work in related fields of electricity and IT, the IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA) is the organization that will set the standard for the field. Some standard rules relating to the SCADA system and has been issued by the IEEE is as follows:

  • IEEE Std 999-1992
  • IEEE Std 999-1992 set the standard that applies to the use of serial digital transmission with supervisory control of the SCADA systems that have geographic terminal. Users associated with standard rules must be adapted specifically to the use of special communication channel, such as a microwave or a private channel telephone line rental. The standard used was data access at speeds up to 10,000 b / s.

  • IEEE Std 1379-2000
  • IEEE Std 1379-2000 set the gold standard for data communication between remote terminal units and Intelligent Electronic Devices. The default setting in the field of electricity also provides guidelines for communication and interoperation of IED and RTU in utility electrical substation. IEE Std 1379 also provides a limited subset of specific two existing communication protocols. By following these provisions, the user must learn the understanding and application of the system to be applied in a timely manner.

2. American National Standards Institute

This organization serves to manage and coordinate the US voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. To meunjang the function of this organization continues to strive to improve both the global competitiveness of US business and the US quality of life. Some promotions and increased facilitation of voluntary consensus standards and conformity assessment systems, and maintain the integrity of their increasingly support the organization's mission of The American National Standards Institute Homeland Security Standards Panel (ANSI-HSSP) is to be a reputable organization. Identification of consensus standards could help the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to accelerate the development and adoption of consensus standards for homeland security.

3. Electric Power Research Institute

This organization serves to provide science and technology solutions to global energy customers interest. As the consortium engaged in the field of science and technology this organization to serve all standard energy needs from all over the world by providing the knowledge, tools, and expertise you need to build competitive advantage, addressing environmental challenges, opening up new business opportunities and meet customer needs for your energy. EPRI has mngeluarkan publication TR1550 standard consists of several parts include Part 1: Introduction to UCA (TM) Version 2.0; Part 2: UCA (TM) Profiles; Part 3: UCA (TM) Common Application Service Models (CASM), Part 4: UCA (TM) Generic Object Models for Substation and Feeder Equipment (GOMSFE).

4. International Electrotechnical Commission

This organization with aims to develop standard protocols for telecontrol, teleprotection and associated telecommunications for electric utility system. Some items are arranged in the organization's standards such as determining the number of links, frame format, architecture (EPA) reference model, RTUs, meters, relays used in SCADA systems. Number formats and frame that is in use is based on three-layer reference model for the efficient implementation of the EPA RTUs, meters, relays and other IEDs are also arranged in IEC 60870-5.
Some standard profile used in ICE include: IEC 60870-5-1 (1990-1902), which governs the determination of coding standards, formats, and frame synchronization of data, IEC 60870-5-2- (1992 to 1904), which regulates the procedure transmission link which uses the field of control and the optional address field, IEC 60870-5-3 (1992-1909), which regulates the transmission frame telecontrol system and IEC 60870-5-4 (1993-1908), which regulates the digital and analog process variables, IEC 60870-5-5 (1995-1906), which regulates the function of basic applications that perform standard procedures for telecontrol systems.

5. DNP3 Users Group

To strengthen the process of interoperability, longevity and upgradeability of the protocol, is used system of DNP3 Users Group. DNP3 Users also serves as an international standard system to facilitate the identification of security and communicate the existence of these standards to users. In the electrical industry, it aims for a comprehensive effort to achieve the standard of performance system that is open, based interoperability between computer substations, RTUs, and IEDs (Intelligent Electronic Devices) and base stations (except communication station inter-master) for the electric utility industry for system SCADA.


To facilitate communication within the control of industrial systems, there are many organizations that set the standard use of the tool so that every user can have the same understanding. Description some of the organizations that set the SCADA control system above gives us an understanding of the regulatory reference should we use in the design of a control system.


Newer Post Older Post Home

You may also like these ebook:

Get Free PLC eBook directly sent to your email,
and email subscription to

We hate SPAM. Your information is never sold or shared with anyone.

Your Email Will Be 100% Secured !